Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue
Honors Council

CHP Honors Council

The CHP Honors Council is the student government of the Chancellor’s Honors Program and consists of elected representatives and committee members. Its purpose is to represent the interests of students in the Chancellor’s Honors Program regarding academics, student life, programming, community service, facilities, and privileges. The CHP Honors Council helps create opportunities for CHP students to better communicate with the Honors and Scholars administration. It strives to facilitate the development of a supportive and stimulating community of scholars while providing a leadership avenue for students to support the program from the inside out. All students in the Chancellor’s Honors Program are encouraged to become active members of the CHP Honors Council. Feel free to email for further information.


The CHP Honors Council has drafted a constitution that highlights the purpose, objectives, and governance of the student organization.


All students in the Chancellor’s Program are eligible to join an committee. The goal of the committees is to further enhance the CHP experience for all students by providing community building events, service opportunities, and publicizing the achievements and creativity of our remarkable students. There are currently two  committees that serve under the leadership of the CHP Honors Council: the Community Service Committee and the Events Committee.

Community Service Committee. The Community Service Committee is responsible for organizing and executing community service opportunities for CHP students. Past projects have included providing service at a community garden that feeds impoverished populations and working in the area’s local food bank. The CSC has also hosted service days at the Ronald McDonald House and the Boys and Girls Club of Knoxville.

Events Committee. The CHP Events Committee sponsors enriching events throughout the year that complement an honors education while building a sense of community among CHP students. Past events have included Trivia Nights and the Honors Holiday Party. The Committee also coordinates the annual Honors Week.

Current Elected Officials

President: Emily Grimes

Vice President: Kristin Fields

Secretary: Emily Matney

Treasurer: Miller McSwain

Community Service Chairs: Rhi Bronson and Mary McGarr

Events Committee Chair: Loren Gilbert and Madison Moats

Public Relations Strategist: Meg Hutchinson

SGA Liason: Austin Smith

Senior Class Representatives: Jamie Marquis, Drew Wofford, and Chris Biller

Junior Class Representatives: John Hill, Delaney Thurston, and Laura Skipper

Sophomore Class Representatives: Jason Pan, Madison Woods, Phillip Chu

Freshman Class Representatives: Kai Thiagarajan, Gregory Whited, Hannah Hagewood