Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

3 Students Receive Torchbearer Award and other honors


Left to Right: Kenna Rewcastle, Julia Ross, Valerie King

On April 8th, 2015, at the Chancellor’s Honors Banquet, three students of the Honors & Scholars Programs received Torchbearer awards. Torchbearer is the highest UT student honor. This distinction reminds us all that those who bear the Torch of Enlightenment shadow themselves to give light to others. This award honors graduating seniors for academic excellence and service to the university and society at large.

Congratulations to Julia Ross (’15 Haslam Scholar), Kenna Rewcastle (’15 Haslam Scholar), and Valerie King (’15 Chancellor’s Honors Program)!

Read their Torchbearer profiles here.

Additional Honors and Scholars students received recognition at the honors banquet.

Marji Itayem received recognition for Extraordinary Campus Leadership Service, which is awarded to graduating students who are extraordinary campus leaders with significant service to others.

Extraordinary Academic Achievement:
Coleen O’Leary, Caroline Duer, Abbey Elder, Rebecca Groh, Kendall Jaggers, Jack Kang, Valerie King, Marianela D’Aprile (Haslam Schoalar), Allison Gose, Emma Pugmire, Tyrel Prentiss (Haslam Scholar), Meghan Stuart, Robert Jellicorse, Joseph Creekmore, Jacob Clabo, Jordan Tipton

Top Collegiate Scholar:
Alana Burnham, Nathan Crilly, Marianela D’Aprile (Haslam Scholar), Andre’ Agassi, Amber Bassett, Allison Gose, Ashley Jakubek, Ashton Monks, Nathaniel Massey

Scholar Athlete:
Caroline Duer
Joseph Creekmore

The complete list of students receiving honors and awards at the 2015 Honors Banquet can be found here.